‘The Hamilton Mixtape’ Debuts at #1 on Billboard 200


Unless you’ve been out of the country for the past year you most likely have heard of Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Hamilton: An American Musical. This 11-time Tony Award winning Broadway show, led by a cast of mostly black and Latino actors, came like a tidal wave and has reported sold out ticket sales through July 2017. Riding the acclaim from the show The Hamilton Mixtape is only extending that success.

According to Nielsen Music, the all-star cover album of the broadway songs debuted in the #1 slot on the Billboard 200 chart selling the equivalent of 187,000 album units, week ending Dec. 8. Out of those sales 169,000 were in traditional album sales. This debut knocked The Weeknd’s Starboy to the #2 slot, and pushed A Pentatonix Christmas to #3.

The 23-song compilation album boasts a packed roster of rap and R&B stars. Chance The Rapper, Nas, Jill Scott, The Roots, John Legend are just a few that appear on the album. (See track list below)

To put it into perspective The Hamilton Mixtape reached the largest sales week for a compilation album since 2012. Before this feat, GOOD Music’s GOOD Music Cruel Summer album debuted with 205,000 sold copies. The Hamilton Mixtape is also the first compilation album to be #1 on the Billboard 200 chart for more than two years. NOW That’s What I Call Music! 50 was the previous holder of the achievement for one week on May 24, 2014.

Purchase The Hamilton Mixtape here. Stream the full album, via Spotify or Apple Music.

  1. No John Trumbull (Intro) – The Roots
  2. My Shot (Rise Up Remix) – The Roots feat. Busta Rhymes, Joell Ortiz & Nate Ruess
  3. Wrote My Way Out – Nas, Dave East, Lin-Manuel Miranda & Aloe Blacc
  4. Wait For It – Usher
  5. An Open Letter (Interlude) – Watsky feat. Shockwave
  6. Satisfied – Sia feat. Miguel & Queen Latifah
  7. Dear Theodosia – Regina Spektor feat. Ben Folds
  8. Valley Forge (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
  9. It’s Quiet Uptown – Kelly Clarkson
  10. That Would Be Enough – Alicia Keys
  11. Immigrants (We Get The Job Done) – K’naan, Snow Tha Product, Riz MC, Residente
  12. You’ll Be Back – Jimmy Fallon & The Roots
  13. Helpless – Ashanti feat. Ja Rule
  14. Take A Break (Interlude) – !llmind
  15. Say Yes To This – Jill Scott
  16. Congratulations – Dessa
  17. Burn – Andra Day
  18. Stay Alive (Interlude) – J.PERIOD & Stro Elliot
  19. Slavery Battle (Demo) – Lin-Manuel Miranda
  20. Washingtons By Your Side – Wiz Khalifa
  21. History Has Its Eyes On You – John Legend
  22. Who Tells Your Story – The Roots feat. Common & Ingrid Michaelson
  23. Dear Theodosia (Reprise) – Chance The Rapper & Francis and The Lights